ESCAP/WMO Typhoon Committee

The Fifty-seventh Session 17-20 February 2025 Hilton Manila Bay Parañaque City, Metro Manila, Philippines FOR PARTICIPANTS ONLY WRD/TC.57/12.1
16 January 2025
ENGLISH ONLY

ELECTION OF THE AWG CHAIR

(Submitted by TCS/ AWG Chair)

ACTION REQUIRED:

The Committee is invited:

a) To endorse the new AWG Chair for the next two year term.

APPENDIXES:

- 1) DRAFT TEXT FOR INCLUSION AT SESSION REPORT
- 2) BACKGROUND INFORMATION

APPENDIX A:

DRAFT TEXT FOR INCLUSION IN THE SESSION REPORT

Election for AWG Chair

- 1. The Committee was informed Dr. T.C LEE from Hong Kong, China successfully completed the second two-year term as AWG Chair.
- 2. The Committee was informed that, according to the Terms of Reference for the AWG, the term of service for the AWG Chair is two years and the limit of service for the Member providing the Chair shall be two consecutive terms.
- 3. The Committee was informed that the TCS had solicited nominations from Members with two candidates applying for the position: Mr Tom EVANS, nominated by the United States of America, and Dr Sukrit KIRTSAENG, nominated by Thailand.
- 4. The Committee took note of the presentations made by both candidates, which outlined their backgrounds and perspectives on key issues concerning the Typhoon Committee.
- 5. The Committee expressed its appreciation for the voting process organised by the TCS during the Session. The votes were counted, with Mr Tom Evans receiving XXX votes and Dr Sukrit Kirtsaeng receiving XXX votes.
- 6. The Committee endorsed [XXXX] as the new AWG Chair for a two-year term, covering TC57 to TC58.
- 7. Any other text which will be included in the Session Report

APPENDIX B:

Background Information

According to the Terms of Reference of Advisory Working Group:

- The term of service of the Chair of the AWG is two years subject to extension authorized by the Committee. The limit of service for the Member providing the Chair shall be two consecutive terms.
- The term of service of the Vice-chair(s) of the AWG is two years subject to extension authorized by the Committee. The limit of service for the Vice-Chair(s) shall be three consecutive terms.

Dr. T.C. LEE has been served as the Chair of AWG from the 53rd Session of the Committee 2021, and his term should be end at 56th Session. The next AWG Chair will be appointed during the 57th Session to be held in Manila of the Philippines in February 2025. Since Hong Kong, China has already provided the AWG Chair for two consecutive terms, the next Chair will have to come from a Member other than Hong Kong, China.

The Typhoon Committee Secretariat (TCS), in consultation with the AWG, issued the invitation letters to Members to nominate candidates for the AWG Chair position. The following nominations were received:

- 1) Mr. Tom EVANS, nominated by the United States of America
- 2) Dr. Sukrit KIRTSAENG, nominated by Thailand

To facilitate the selection process and in accordance with the Committee's Rules of Procedure, a face-to-face voting process will be conducted by the TCS during the 57th Typhoon Committee Session in the Philippines.

To help Members better understand the candidates' backgrounds and perspectives on key issues concerning the Typhoon Committee, short presentations will be scheduled on **Day 2**, under **Agenda Item 12** of TC57. The voting process will take place on **Day 3**, after **Agenda Item 17**, during which votes will be counted, and the result announced.